Thoughts

Pace yourself: 62 days to Commencement

boy art

When I’m swimming fifty laps I think to myself: just two more, to the wall and back, before I get closer to my goal. Some mornings I fight the wind on my way up Third Avenue, and it feels just like when I’m swimming those last two laps. At night, when all that I’ve done and not done lays itself before me, I find myself facing a wave with little energy left to attack it. All I can do is dive in.

Did the Founding Fathers, did Abraham Lincoln, did Confucius endure days when they were so tired but had to keep working? Is lack of sleep something that only modern society struggles with? I don’t think so. Like Benjamin Franklin’s famous saying, we have always fought to sleep early, wake up early and live healthy lives. 

One blogger in China found that no matter how early she trekked out to the gym on a Saturday morning, someone else was always there before her. So she wrote: “When you are dreaming there are always people working hard.”

我就特别感慨,你以为自己很努力很拼命了,可总有人比你更努力;你以为自己对自己够残酷够不好了,可总有人比你对自己下手更狠。想想你世界上那些让人叹为观止的人,哪一个不是在你睡大觉的时候在拼命,读别人的传记和名人名言的时候总是暗暗发誓明天一定是新的开始,但早起依旧是那么难,下了班依旧倒在沙发上不再想起来。这世界总有一些人天资聪颖或精力旺盛,但你我的努力都还差得远,还不到跟人拼天资的份儿上。(这句话好像是meiya说的,昂~)

Then I had a particular feeling: you think you’ve worked really hard, but there are always people who work harder than you; you thought that you were already very tough on yourself, but there are always people who are even more ruthless in pushing themselves. If you think about this amazing world, there are always people working hard while you sleep. When you read the biographies of famous people, you secretly resolve to begin anew the next morning, but waking up early is always hard, and when you get off work all you want to do is sit on the sofa and not get up. This world will always have naturally gifted and energetic people, but your hard work will never be enough, (even this phrase seems to come from another famous author, meiya, oh well~)

– Zhaoxing 赵星 aka 一直特立独行的猫

Leave a Reply

