Education

Thinking On the Sands

How am I doing?

I made a personal New Year’s resolution to post at least once a day on topics more worthwhile than the weather. I hope it has been working. It’s so easy to let our minds wander and waste time during this long winter break. I should be reading more, now that I have the time.

But sometimes writing is more interesting.

As my professor said, school used to be a liesure activity, and I think studying still is. Although there are many other things we’d rather do than study, the feeling of accomplishment at the end of each semester is worth all the effort.

Consider also those who are working and do not have the time or resources to study. Modern life is too luxurious; we must use all that we have well. And what does that mean? Although Texts and Ideas was the most difficult class of my first semester, I am going to miss it in the spring. Professor Renzi was right — Texts and Ideas is the most important class I will have taken, perhaps in my entire lifetime. More than any other course that class has grounded me in significant philosophical texts and taught me the importance of thinking for myself. Texts and Ideas has also taught me how to think. But sometimes excessive thinking is distraction from God.

Trusting him means accepting that he is sovereign and that he will take care of us.

“Blessed are those who have not seen and have believed.” (John 20:29)

Thus as my aunt always says, “不要想太多” (Don’t think too much). Life gets too complicated otherwise, for paradoxes arise in every area. (How much fun we had with paradoxes when learning Kierkegaard in Texts and Ideas!) Yet some of us with the scholarly bent can’t help but think about each and every detail.

Richard Rodriguez said in “The Achievement of Desire” that his education separated him from his family and society in general. But if his scholarship gave him anything, he gained the ability to realize that he had been alienated and understand why his relationships were strained.

Used rightly, education will help us analyze the problems of the world and seek solutions. The life of the learned is difficult, for few can share your knowledge, your struggles, and your delights.

But when you find those “kindred spirits,” what a joy it is!

Leave a Reply

